Welcome to the website of the Australian and New Zealand Falls Prevention Society (ANZFPS). The ANZFPS was formed in 2006 to promote the multidisciplinary study and implementation of falls prevention in older people. The society achieves this purpose by:

  • holding regular meetings to present and discuss the latest research and clinical findings relating to the falls risk factors and falls prevention strategies;
  • facilitating student participation at ANZFPS meetings through travel grants, low registration fees and presentation awards, and;
  • providing members with email notifications about upcoming ANZFPS meetings and other occasional email updates. You can read our newsletters here. 

The ANZFPS acknowledges the traditional owners of the unceded lands of Australia upon which we live and work and pays respect to Elders past, present and future.

The ANZFPS acknowledges tangata and mana whenua across Aotearoa New Zealand, tēnā koutou katoa.

9th Biennial ANZFPS Virtual Conference 1st-3rd December 2021

ANZFPS Executive

PRESIDENTProfessor Cathie Sherrington, The University of Sydney
VICE PRESIDENTProfressor Kim Delbaere, Neuroscience Research Australia
TREASURERProfessor Stephen Lord, Neuroscience Research Australia
SECRETARYDr Anna Hatton, The University of Queensland
WEB MANAGERDr Daina Sturnieks, Neuroscience Research Australia
STUDENT MEMBERDaniel Treacy, The University of Sydney
2018 PAST CONFERENCE HOSTDr Michele Callisaya, Monash University
2020 UPCOMING CONFERENCE HOSTProfessor Ngaire Kerse, The University of Auckland and Joyce Cook Chair in Ageing Well
GENERAL MEMBER - NEW ZEALANDDr Shankar Sankaran, Middlemore Hospital and Counties Manukau Health
GENERAL MEMBER - AUSTRALIADr Morag Taylor, Neuroscience Research Australia
GENERAL MEMBER - AUSTRALIADr Jasmine Menant, Neuroscience Research Australia
GENERAL MEMBER AUSTRALIAProfessor Lindy Clemson, University of Sydney
GENERAL MEMBER - AUSTRALIADr Melanie Farlie, Monash University
GENERAL MEMBER - AUSTRALIAProfessor Anne-Marie Hill, Curtin University
ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANTJessica Turner, Neuroscience Research Australia

ANZFPS Sub-Committees


Sub-CommitteeLed by
CommunicationsDaina Sturnieks
EducationJasmine Menant
Early Career ResearcherMorag Taylor, Melanie Farlie, Daniel Treacy
Advocacy & Research CollaborationCathie Sherrington
Falls Best Practice Guidelines UpdateJasmine Menant

To contact us you can email anzfallsprevention@neura.edu.au


Click here to download the ANZFPS-Bylaws-2019